Chart technical analysis indexes from anonymous and insider traders dow jones nikkei CAC40 Forex Gold ....      
► Not yet registered ?   ► Forgot your password ?  
We consider that ad revenue should go to our visitors.
We offer 1 gold or silver coin every friday.
With 100.000 visitors/day we will offer 1 bar gold in our Money quiz.
Support us ! Help us grow !
Donation counter If you are satisfied with our free
Services & Contest
Make a donation
 
Need :
76,495.00 $
 
Received :
40 $


Subscribe now
Fill the registration form
confirm your account
 
Discuss try to win
and play on
our free contest

New York: 10:26
Tokyo: 23:26
London: 15:26
Berlin: 16:26
Paris: 16:26
Hong Kong: 22:26
Riyadh: 17:26
Zürich: 16:26
CFD

 1 

HANG SENG     NOMURA: CHINA STRESS INDEX IS ON THE RISE (mart.j)

Author Message ▼ Last message
mart.j     posted : 02/11/11   07:45 pm


member  
Nomura has recently introduced a new indicator which they will be updating on a quarterly basis. It covers macro risks to the Chinese economy. They call it the China Stress Index. Recent readings show increasing strains in the Chinese economy largely due to pressures from their housing market (via Nomura):


“The CSI indicates that risks in China‟s macro economy have been on a broad uptrend, and more noticeably since the global financial crisis. In Q2 2011, the CSI rose to its highest level since it was first compiled, but in Q3 it eased slightly, mainly because of a decline in the flow of new shadow banking funding (Figure 3). One limitation of the CSI is that it does not give a probability of a hard economic landing. To do so would require a reference variable measuring past episodes of hard economic landings in China, the obvious one being real GDP. Yet in the past 20 years China’s GDP growth has not fallen below 5% and before then the causes of hard landings in GDP were influenced heavily by social and political unrest.”



click to enlarge




A closer look at the components reveals that rapid increases in residential housing starts relative to sales, residential property prices, gross capital formation, property loans and domestic credit have been the main recent drivers. We are under no illusions that the CSI has its limitations and needs to be treated with caution. The results of the CSI, which we will update on a quarterly basis, should always be open to interpretation, and used as a tool among many others for analysis of China macro risks.”

Source: Nomura

AUTHOR REQUEST: Please don’t forget to share our analysis if you like it. Social media is extremely important to companies producing analysis and content!!
▲ Top      
You must be registered to join