Chart technical analysis indexes from anonymous and insider traders dow jones nikkei CAC40 Forex Gold ....      
► Not yet registered ?   ► Forgot your password ?  
We consider that ad revenue should go to our visitors.
We offer 1 gold or silver coin every friday.
With 100.000 visitors/day we will offer 1 bar gold in our Money quiz.
Support us ! Help us grow !
Donation counter If you are satisfied with our free
Services & Contest
Make a donation
 
Need :
76,495.00 $
 
Received :
40 $


Subscribe now
Fill the registration form
confirm your account
 
Discuss try to win
and play on
our free contest

New York: 11:37
Tokyo: 00:37
London: 16:37
Berlin: 17:37
Paris: 17:37
Hong Kong: 23:37
Riyadh: 18:37
Zürich: 17:37
CFD

 1 

DOW JONES     Bank of America is up (Luck i m your father)

Author Message ▼ Last message
Luck i m your father     posted : 14/12/10   07:23 pm


member  
The most successful stocks last week were banks and financial services, led by a stirring advance of Bank of America Corp. (NYSE: BAC), as shown above. Banks are getting back in a groove now that 2011 economic growth assessments are being revised upward due to the titanic stimulus package embedded in President Obama's tax compromise.

Still, the banks have disappointed us so many times we need to make sure not to get overly excited.




click to enlarge


Hedge21     posted : 25/08/11   10:02 pm


administrator  
Buffett Tells CNBC 'This Isn't 2008' As Bank of America Gets $5B Loan at Just 6%



Warren Buffett tells CNBC's Becky Quick "this isn't 2008" and that's why Bank of America is getting better terms for its $5 billion loan today from Berkshire Hathaway, compared to what General Electric and Goldman Sachs paid for similar loans almost three years ago at the height of the credit crisis.

Buffett is also stressing the investment was his idea, perhaps to downplay any fears that Bank of America is desperate for a cash infusion.

This morning, Bank of America announced that Berkshire will use cash to buy 50,000 shares of preferred stock with a liquidation value of $100,000 per share in a private offering.

That is, in effect, a loan to the bank, in which it will pay around $300 million in dividends each year to Berkshire. BofA can pay back that loan at any time, but it will have to make an additional 5 percent dividend payment to do so.

he interest rate on the loan is 6 percent, well below the 10 percent that Buffett got from GE and Goldman almost three years ago, but not at all bad with 10-year Treasuries just above 2.2 percent.

Goldman paid back its $5 billion loan in April of this year, sending Berkshire roughly $1.6 billion in dividends over the 2-1/2 year life of the deal. That's an annualized return on investment of 12.6 percent. Warrants that came with that deal are out of the money, with Goldman trading a few dollars below the $115 strike price. Current price: [GS 109.80 -0.51 (-0.46%) ]

Buffett had said he didn't want Goldman to buy back its preferred shares, because it cut off the stream of $500 million a year going from Goldman to Berkshire. He's also indicated he doesn't plan to exercise the Goldman warrants until just before they expire in 2013.

General Electric has said it will pay off its $3 billion loan this October. Berkshire will pocket a total of $1.2 billion in dividends over that deal's three years for an annual return on investment of 11.1 percent. Like Goldman, warrants in that deal are also out of the money, with GE trading almost seven dollars below the $22.25 strike price. Current price: [GE 15.44 -0.28 (-1.78%) ]

In today's deal, Berkshire gets warrants to buy up to $5 billion of BofA's common stock, 700 million shares at an exercise price of just over $7.14 a share. It can make those purchases at its discretion anytime in the next 10 years.

That gives Berkshire the potential to become BofA's largest shareholder. State Street is currently at the top of that list with 460.5 million shares, about 4.5 percent of the bank's outstanding shares. (Berkshire sold a 5 million share stake in BofA during 2010's fourth quarter. It had been purchased by the now-retired GEICO stock picker Lou Simpson.)

Buffett's deal with Bank of America sent its shares as high as $8.80 this morning, for a gain of almost 26 percent. That put the stock well above the strike price of the warrants. At that high, Berkshire's warrants had an instant "paper profit" of $1.16 billion.

BofA shares have been giving back some of those gains. As of 10:50a ET, they're around $7.85, reducing the warrants' paper profits to 'just' $500 million.

BofA closed yesterday at $6.99.

Current price: [BAC 7.66 0.67 (+9.59%) ]

As was the case with GE and Goldman, Bank of America also gets a strong endorsement from Buffett. He calls the investment a vote of confidence in both BofA and the United States.

In the release, Buffett says, "Bank of America is a strong, well-led company, and I called Brian to tell him I wanted to invest in it. I am impressed with the profit-generating abilities of this franchise, and that they are acting aggressively to put their challenges behind them. Bank of America is focused on their customers and on serving them well. That's what customers want, and that's the company's strategy."

Buffett tells us he came up with the idea of an investment while taking a bath earlier this week, and he asked BofA CEO Brian Moynihan yesterday if Berkshire could do the deal.
Please review our website & don\' hesitate to ask your question
Christina     posted : 15/11/11   08:05 pm


member  
BOA would buy MF GlObal




click to enlarge


I\'m happy to receive any constructive criticism about my trades. I\'m always ready to learn more.
Luck i m your father     posted : 21/12/11   07:11 pm


member  



click to enlarge


▲ Top      
You must be registered to join